luciazephyr: Book of the Still, the time traveler's lifeline (Default)
[personal profile] luciazephyr
Okay, so the living room is 100% clean. It looks amazing. I sometimes really enjoy cleaning just because the end product is awesome. All 50-plus figurines in the cabinets where individually dusted, the shelves are shiny, the...

jkdhfgkjfgsKJHDGKJFSDKGH SDFSDKEBVD THERE IS DIRT IN THE LAMPSHADE. :RUNS:

Okay, now it's 100%. Everything is awesome. :zen:

The trick to cleaning is to now pause once you've started and to listen to all your really guilty pleasure music while you work.


  1. "READY STEADY GO" - L'arc En Ciel
    I don't really like JRock like must current/former otaku do. It never really caught my interest, mostly because I am very lyrically-driven when it comes to music. This is an exception. I seem to love LEC's music to death. I loved "Fourth Avenue Cafe", this song, and what else of their stuff I've heard. ♥


  2. "READY STEADY GO" - Osu! Tatakae! Ouendan!
    Yes, again. See, I fukken love a this video and have watched it so much, when I hear this cover of the song, I SEE THE TAPPING BEHIND MY EYELIDS. I am not kidding, I was once listening to this in the car and I started tapping out the entire level on the center of the steering wheel. The original is great, but this cover is my personal anthem for Excellence In Gaming. Watch the video. Watch. The. Video. Tasian's talent will blow your mind. That and his humorous 'translations' of the Japanese text are brilliant.
    BTW, the full LP is here.


  3. "The Device Has Been Modified" - Victims of Science"
    This is a remix of Portal music and sounds. It's tres good, but even better when when you've seen the video that goes with it, which is like a speed/skillrun set to music. If you've played the game, you'll be impressed. If not, you may get vertigo.


  4. "Girlfriend" - Avril Lavigne
    Shut the fuck up, you know you love it too. Especially after watching this hilarious AMV.


  5. "United State of Pop 2008 (Viva La Pop)" - DJ Earworm
    A mash-up of 2008's hits with the the steady drum of "Viva la Vida" under it, proving again that song can make anything good. Also, I was amused to hear how much of last year's chart toppers with complete and utter tripe or just about fucking. Oh, modern music. I do feel so validated in hating you. :3


  6. "I Kissed a Boy" - Cobra Starship
    :oontz oontz oontz: I love this song unironically. It's so catchy. It's so heavily laden with lame turns of phrase, it's awful, but whatever. I need my brainless tunes too. :headbop:


  7. "Hardcore Mutha Fucka" - DV Roxx
    you see, your mission is impossible 'cause I'm your biggest obstacle. I shouldn't have to say anymore about this song.


  8. Blinn - "Archaeologist"
    This is the nerdiest song I have. By miles. JoCo daydreams of reaching this height of nerdiness. It's a song tribute to the Archaeologist class in NetHack. Yes, really. Even more shocking? It's a really good song.


  9. "Heimdalsgate Like a Promethean Curse" - Of Montreal
    This is the peppiest song about clinical depression you will ever hear. It's mind-blowing. How many other songs about chemicals fucking with your emotions feature a Buddy Holly Hiccup? NONE, THAT'S HOW MANY. DL this song, it's trippy.


  10. "I Bet You Look Good On the Dancefloor" - Arctic Monkeys
    Only robots can resist the urge to dance to this song.


There ya go, FList. Ten songs for you to secretly DL and pretend you don't love when you really totally do. I won't tell.

In return, anyone wanna rec me some more guilty pleasure songs? Awesome rocking tunes or some more JRock you consider on par with L'arc En Ciel's stuff? Or not. Whichever. Enjoy the music.

-Lucy

(no subject)

Date: 2009-03-18 09:36 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tellcincinnati.livejournal.com
One of my best friends used to be obsessed with L'Arc~en~Ciel and they were her her favourite band for years and years. She used to send me some of their stuff from time to time and I must say that a lot of if is really damn catchy.

Lately my biggest guilty pleasure is Miley Cyrus, which may be the lowest of the low, but I can't resist the pull of a well-written straight up pop tune.

(no subject)

Date: 2009-03-18 09:41 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tarastara.livejournal.com
Offff Montreal. ♥

I'm particularly fond of Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go - Wham! but everyone and their mother knows how much I love that song, so IDK if it counts as a guilty pleasure.

I also like Lily Allen.

(no subject)

Date: 2009-03-18 10:20 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] raucousraven.livejournal.com
Ooh, musiks. Tank oo.

If you have never heard Epik High, you should. They're fluff, but they're the good fluff, imho. M-flo are likewise awesome, especially when remixing a totally amazing woman named Wada Akiko, one of the first R&B queens in Japan. Neither are in Teh Engleesh, but your L'arc~en~Ciel up there means you're okay with that, right ;) Here you go. (http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=1f4934d1977e00d51bee9a6e9edd9c769ccf823be549fcf95be6ba49b5870170)

(no subject)

Date: 2009-03-19 01:58 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] silver11016.livejournal.com
Aah, wish my laptop wasn't dead so I could upload for you. I rec "Drink It Down" by L'arc En Ciel if you don't have it already; I had a lot of fun doing a dance to that one last year.

I will think on it and be back with more later.

Ooh! Um, Rilo Kiley is a good band for cute earwormy indie things. "The Frug" is a ridiculously addictive song.

(no subject)

Date: 2009-03-19 03:32 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] canis-takahari.livejournal.com
Maaaan, I love that Cobra Starship song, it always makes me so happy. Also, "I Bet You Look Good on the Dance Floor" is EXCELLENT. I can't NOT bop around to it.

Thank you so much for linking to that Portal song/video, it is AMAZING and I will be downloading the song now, thnx.

(no subject)

Date: 2009-03-19 05:44 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] hanachan01.livejournal.com
I don't even know where to start with J-Music recommendations. I might just have to make a recs post this weekend. My guilty pleasure music rec would be "Hana wo Puun" by KiraPika- and you need to watch the video with it. Really, anything involving Koharu Kusumi is guilty pleasure worthy, but this song/video in particular. I will also admit a weakness for Rihanna's "Umbrella", "Shut Up and Drive", and "Disturbia"...

So, this isn't exactly a peppy list, sorry.

Date: 2009-03-20 01:35 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] flamintwilight.livejournal.com
My Guilty Music:

Though I'm not sure how much of it you would like...
I'm cutting all of my country pick-me-ups, so you're safe from that, at least. What music do I have that you haven't sent to me? XD This might be hard.

Personally, I have a thing for the Pussycat Dolls, but I won't subject you.

"Caramell Dansen" never fails as bouncy happy music, but everybody knows that song.

And with the Caramel theme, but lacking the bounce:
Caramel- Suzanne Vega (Vega makes me think of a Parisian lounge singer, if that gives you a hint.)

And for theme-completionist sake, I'm adding
Chocolate- Snow Patrol though I'm sure you have it already.

Hmm...
They Might Be Giants - "Boss of Me" as a really bouncy fuck off song.

For Jstuff-- I don't listen to much, and most of it is comprised of awesome anime soundtrack music, but some of my favorites are:
"Sakura Kiss" - Kawabe Chieco (the Ouran opening! So adorable!)
"Salva Nos"- Kajiura Yuki (It's Ominous Latin Chanting set to a techno beat, used during the shoot 'em up scenes in Noir, and it's awesome.)
"Coperia no Hitsugi/Coppelia's Casket" - Kajiura Yuki (Also Noir, also awesome, also techno-y sounding but less so.)

This makes me want to finish watching Noir.

Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags