My thoughts on Numb3rs
May. 19th, 2006 10:20 pmSo, Larry rocks harder than usually. Love the cool green shirt with the dragon on it. Looked really nice. And Charlie calling him "Dr. Fleinhardt" made me happy for some reason... He gives the best advice, especially when he's trying to cure his boredom. And when Amita mentioned that the people at work know you best, am I the only one who instantly thought of Larry? I hope not.
Also, I want to hear someone, preferably Charlie, call him "Lawrence" again. I really adore that name. It's... just really nice.
Anyway. Plot. Good. Okay, the FBI plot was pants, though Megan and Colby made it fun. I like disliking Colby. And I love Megan a little bit. She's very awesome and easily the coolest of the team members. But, still, lameish plot. I expected something special about it: season finale- hello? But besides the method of attack (using the drug shots), this guy was like any other week, if a bit more insane.
Now, to the point of the episode. Charlie.
Dear TPTB,
Oh, screw you. You lead me to believe the episode was about everyone in danger. You lied. You told me Alan got shot. Lies. But mostly, you lead me to believe Charlie was hallucinating. YOU LIAR! I hate you and the way you drop beautiful opportunities to join up with Operation Mindfuck and really mess with your characters and your viewers. Just wait 'til I finish my conspiracy fic. I will PWN YOU!
Hugs and kisses,
Lucy.
Now that I got that out of the way... I kinda liked the sideplot with Margaret, who was a lovely woman, if a bit too lovely for my liking. And I believe Charlie's having to realize what he wanted to ask. He wanted to know for years, I bet, but it's one of those really obvious things that didn't come up when you finally needed it. And it was a good question, a valid one. I cannot decided if she was telling the truth or not, that she didn't regret it. Someone with children? Tell me? Is it believable, or was she lying?
Despite Larry and despite Margaret, despite Megan's coolness, my favorite moment was Alan talking to Margaret and that stunning line: "Then you shouldn't have died." Oh, man. *applaudes* Beautiful, mate. Beautiful.
And my least favorite was Don getting the needle in the neck. Oh hell, no. That don't fly with me, man. I hate the idea of my neck being in danger and I twitched very hard when that happened. And the five hundred times before when it showed during the trailer. Gah! *holds back of neck protectively*
Also good: my interpretation of the ending. Alan and Charlie jumping in to help because of what Margaret said to each of them. That's why I think they wanted to help. And it's sweet, with them rushing to Don's aid and Don all "dude, did I miss something?" If the TPTB didn't intend that interpretation.... I don't care. Mine's better and cuter and stuff.
So... good show. Not good enough for a Season Finale, yo! I'm supposed to live off that for the entire hiatus?! *sticks tongue out at TPTB* Nyah.
(no subject)
Date: 2006-05-19 08:41 pm (UTC)*breathes*
I loved the acting tho for the first dream. Charlie with tears in his eyes and Alan still trying to comfort him made me want to cry. I find it interesting that they show that tho. The other dreams were just Margaret coming by and talking. Could this be a weird foreshadowing thing? Or was it really just Charlie's fears of losing his last surviving parent coming into play? And why is it Alan getting shot in such a violent way? I would assume it would be Don just because Charlie has seen it. Why not a car accident or something like that? It makes me wonder.
As for Don getting the needle, I was kinda hoping for more. I'm a total H/C whore. I've been hoping all season for a "Don gets shot and Charlie's all ZOMG" or vice versa. I prefer Charlie being the one left behind because I feel it stretches his character and forces him to dig deeper into himself in a way that's different from his math.
Dude, when did I get all deep thinky for this?
I liked it. Based on what we've seen in the past, this is on par for a season finale for what I'd expect from this show. It's not House or Supernatural or Atlantis or CSI or whatever else show you can pull out of your hat that leaves you with massive cliffies. They don't do that it seems. They stick to their formula of main FBI plot, main family plot, possible secondary friend type plots and wrap it all up nicely at the end.
ok I'm gonna finish typing in my really bad cracktastic House fic.
(no subject)
Date: 2006-05-19 08:50 pm (UTC)*cocks pistol* Of course you know this means war.Seriously, what? Larry knows Charlie better than everyone else on the show combined. They've known each other for years, have a beautiful friendship, and no Eppes family member can trumph that. *dies a little inside when Larry doesn't get the love he deserves*They built up this episode so beautifully in the trailer. Then they disappoint me and I get all ticked. *grumbles* Wait 'til I get ficcing. I'll beat the TPTB into the ground.
I know it's not House, but geez... This is an average episode. *annoyed*
(no subject)
Date: 2006-05-19 10:30 pm (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2006-05-20 06:41 am (UTC)As I said in
It's a weak justification, but I think that Charlie's still very much all about Charlie--unable to really confront his own guilt over having Mom until she got sick and then forcing Don to take care of her (and him) head on.
(no subject)
Date: 2006-05-20 01:08 pm (UTC)The more I think about this ep, the more I dislike it. Mainly because they didn't live up to the trailer. *angry*
(no subject)
Date: 2006-05-20 01:59 pm (UTC)This one felt very "eh" to me. And you know how I feel about TPTB.
I think you're right that they're not that deep. The show does want viewers to hug Charlie, and I was thinking about it on TWOP--that I feel more huggy when I think about Larry having to put up with him than I do thinking about some woman having to put up with Charlie, because I think that Larry tends to be less tolerant of stupidity and more encouraging of Charlie's thinking through things, whereas someone like Amita--I don't think she'd have the power to deal with Charlie's wibbling, and she'd be stuck with his woobie-ing, if that makes any sense.
(no subject)
Date: 2006-05-20 02:27 pm (UTC)And, yeah, about Larry. I was reading the reviews in the LJ you mentioned above, and she doesn't like Larry and it makes me sad to think so many people don't. And, honestly, does anyone like Amita?